Check out the Lincoln Aviator Community Here.

thisguy159

2016 MKX vs 2017 & 3.7 vs 2.7 question

Hi, I'm brand new to Lincoln and am in the process of buying a MKX now.  I have an option of getting the upgraded 13 speaker stereo or getting the 2.7 engine depending which model I choose but my budget allows for one or the other, I'm just not sure which one I should pick.  I am very excited about the car and the fact that my model 2016 will come with Sync 3 (even better today I learned that Android Auto is coming to all Sync 3 units!).  That said I have found NO reviews of the 3.7, I would probably not hesitate on the engine if the trans wasn't ummmm...old and a 6 speed, however being that the vehicle is heavy (AWD) I don't expect performance to be great.  Can somebody tell me a little about the 3.7 AWD performance like what is the 0-60 at the very least.  Also i know this model is new for 2016 but I'm towards the end (I think) of the production cycle and I would expect the 2017 to start showing up around April/May, do I have that correct?  Whatever that time frame ends up being does anybody know anything about the 2017 MKX, I would be shocked if the updated the front end to the new Lincoln grill which inevitably will happen 2-4 years from now.  Also I assume that the 2017 will retain the 6 speed as the MKZ will also have the 6 speed in 2017.  Thanks for any info and feedback.

Both the 3.7 and 2.7TT use the same transmission... the 6F55.  Not sure if I've come across the 0-60 on the 3.7, but Motor Trend clocked the 2.7T at 6.4.  I have the Car and Driver article at home, but if I recall correctly their article had a similar number.  So I would imagine the 3.7 would probably be closer to 7 seconds.