Check out the Lincoln Aviator Community Here.

greyfox47

2017 MKX 2nd Cabin Rattle/Noise

I posted earlier on a driver side rattle that occurs 50% of the time when I hit any kind of bump or road imperfection. That remains unresolved. The new "noise" is more annoying. At highway speeds, eventually as a driver I hear something, which is a steady, consistent cabin rattle. From the passenger seat, it is much louder. Once it starts, it doesn't go away while the car is moving, regardless of speed. I recorded the sounds, which never seems to vary much in pitch on my phone. Yesterday, we were on Interstate 80 and the noise was in its full glory while I sat on the passenger side. Then we ran into a steady, sometimes heavy, rain and the noise seemed to subside and actually ceased until about 10 minutes after the rain stopped. Any thoughts on where I might start looking? I'm thinking undercarriage but mainly because of the rain connection (?). A $52000 rattle box is not what I had in mind. I've attached the audio file. Car noise 7.wav

Check the following just to be safe:

glasses in overhead storage

visor not secured

something in lower door pockets

All can cause a rattle that may seem to emanate from somewhere else in the vehicle.

Also check for rear seat belt buckle hitting side of seat.

Yeah, I verified that the source is not buckles or storage areas. The service manager from the purchase dealer rode along with me yesterday and has the vehicle. I'm grateful that he acknowledged the noise. Further refining, it occurs between 35mph and 70mph and fortunately (?) has become easy to replicate. They worked the issue all day yesterday (Friday 4/29) and still have the car. The good news is that I'm driving a new Continental as a loaner, but quite honestly, for the money especially, I enjoy the MKX a whole lot more. Assuming they find something, I'll repost with the results. Oh.... I couldn't reproduce the noise from an earlier post.